SAB Members

Chairman: Anthony Sinskey

Anthony J. Sinskey, Professor of Microbiology and Health Sciences & Technology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Prof. Sinskey is considered to be one of the founders of the discipline Metabolic Engineering. His long term experience in this field and the new field of synthetic biology makes him one of the worldwide leading experts in these areas. This leadership position results from more than 350 manuscripts in peer reviewed journals and over 50 patents. Professor Sinskey is well known in the biopharmaceutical industry and has been a Scientific Co-founder of several biotechnology companies, including Genzyme Corporation, Natural Pharmaceuticals, Metabolix and Merrimack Pharmaceuticals.

Member: Barbara Imperiali

Barbara Imperiali is the Class of 1922 Professor of Biology and Professor of Chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Dr. Imperiali began her career as an assistant professor at Carnegie Mellon University in 1986. In 1989, she joined the faculty at the California Institute of Technology where she earned the rank of Professor of Chemistry in 1997. In 1999, Professor Imperiali assumed her current appointment as Professor of Biology and Professor of Chemisty at MIT. Prof. Imperiali is an international leader in the field of protein structure and function. During her career thus far she published nearly 200 manuscripts.

Prof. Imperiali was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2001, admitted as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry in 2004, and was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2010.

Member: Richard D. Braatz

Richard D Braatz is the Edwin R. Gilliland Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Prof. Braatz is known for his research in control theory and its applications to chemical, pharmaceutical, and materials systems. He has received many honors including the Hertz Foundation Thesis Prize, the Donald P. Eckman Award from the American Automatic Control Council, the Curtis W. McGraw Research Award from the Engineering Research Council, and the Antonio Ruberti Young Researcher Prize from the Antonio Ruberti Foundation and IEEE Control Systems Society. Braatz is a Fellow of the International Federation of Automatic Control, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and American Association for the Advancement of Science. During his career thus far he published more than 150 manuscripts.

Member: Eran Pichersky

Eran Pichersky is Michael M. Martin Collegiate Professor at the University of Michigan.

Professor Pichersky served as the first Chair of the Department of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology (MCDB) from 2001-2003. In 2005, he was appointed the M.M. Marin Collegiate Professor in MCDB. He received the Alexander von Humboldt Award for Senior US Scientists in 2000, a Senior Fulbright Scholarship in 2000, and a Forchheimer Fellowship in 2001. He is considered one of the leading experts on biochemical pathways involved in the production of plant volatiles, enzymes that catalyze them, and genes that encode these enzymes.

Member: Peter Sorger

Peter Sorger is Otto Krayer Professor of Systems Pharmacology at Harvard Medical School.

Pete Sorger is the co-founder of the Open Microscopy Environment (OME), MIT’s Computational and Systems Biology Initiative (CSBi), the Council for Systems Biology in Boston (CSB2) and companies that include Merrimack Pharmaceuticals and Glencoe Software and serves on the scientific advisory and corporate boards of several other technology companies. He is director of the Center for Cell Decision Processes, an NIH Center of Excellence in Systems Biology and co-directs a new HMS program in Systems Pharmacology. During his career thus far he published more than 150 manuscripts.

Member: Jörn Kalinowski

Jörn Kalinowski is Professor at the Center for Biotechnology (CeBiTec) at Bielefeld University, Germany

Prof. Kalinowski is Head of Technology Platform Genomics at Bielefeld University, Center for Biotechnology. Prof. Kalinowski is one of the leading experts in the field of industrial microbial engineering. During his career thus far he published more than 200 manuscripts.